Tags

, , , , ,

This month’s collection of beautiful but costly things comes courtesy (haha) of Fortnum & Mason. I ended up here after getting lost trying to find Piccadilly, and ending up on Pall Mall (I know, I know).  I debated calling this post ‘Stuff I like but can’t afford (to eat)…ever’ but you can’t eat bone china. Enjoy.

As soon as you enter Fortnum & Mason, the most wonderful aroma hits you; the smell of hundreds of different blends of tea and coffee all competing to win over your nostrils. These glass tea pots contain varieties of loose leaf tea for smelling. I thought the elderflower and green tea blend sounded good. Surprisingly it wasn't. But the ginger and green tea blend smelt brilliantly fruity in a most unexpected way. At £8.50 I wasn't about to explain overpriced tea to my husband at our next budgetary meeting.

As soon as you enter Fortnum & Mason, the most wonderful aroma hits you; the smell of hundreds of different blends of tea and coffee all competing to win over your nostrils. These glass tea pots contain varieties of loose leaf tea for smelling. I thought the elderflower and green tea blend sounded good. Surprisingly it wasn’t. But the ginger and green tea blend smelt brilliantly fruity in a most unexpected way. At £8.50 I wasn’t about to explain overpriced tea to my husband at our next budgetary meeting.

Pricey jam: Strawberry and Rose Petal jam sounds fabulous doesn't it? I'd be afraid to eat it  and then by the time I decide to actually dip in my silver-(sprayed) spoon, there will probably be a thin line of grey mould on top (because I previously opened the jar to give it a sniff). So obviously, it's just not worth it. I left the price in the photo just to convince myself.

Pricey jam: Strawberry and Rose Petal jam sounds fabulous doesn’t it? I’d be afraid to eat it and then by the time I decide to actually dip in my silver-(sprayed) spoon, there will probably be a thin line of grey mould on top (because I previously opened the jar to give it a sniff). So obviously, it’s just not worth it. I left the price in the photo just to convince myself.

Bristol bone china set: if I had to get married again, firstly I'd marry a banker and secondly, I'd register at Fortnum and Mason in the hope that someone would think highly enough of us to buy at least one tea cup from this pretty pink range. I looked all over for the price but alas,  I guess if you have to ask then you can't afford it. I'm not bothered though. My husband is fab and my great aunties left us a lot of bone china that looks uncannily like this set (hoorah). PS: you can buy stuff like this at any good charity store.

Bristol bone china set: if I had to get married again, firstly I’d marry a banker and secondly, I’d register at Fortnum and Mason in the hope that someone would think highly enough of us to buy at least one tea cup from this pretty pink range. I looked all over for the price but alas, I guess if you have to ask then you can’t afford it. I’m not bothered though. My husband is fab and my great aunties left us a lot of bone china that looks uncannily like this set (hoorah). PS: you can buy stuff like this at any good charity store.

Silver tea strainers: these are just darling and would make great wedding presents (but only for couples who LOVE tea or else you stand a high chance of it being stupidly regifted -and not back to you!). These babies will set you back £ but you'll never have to have tea out again.

Tiny silver tea strainer pots: these are just darling and would make great wedding presents (but only for couples who LOVE tea or else you stand a high chance of it being stupidly re-gifted – and not back to you!). These babies will set you back about £45.

Candied fruits: I have never seen candied fruits used at an actual dinner party. Only in biblical films direct by De Mille and the like. But their visual impact is not to be underestimated. Especially that bad boy pineapple!

Candied fruits: I have never seen candied fruits used at an actual dinner party. Only in biblical films directed by De Mille and the like. But their visual impact is not to be underestimated. Especially that bad boy pineapple!

Food hampers: the famous hampers were stacked up just by the ground floor restaurant entrance. With names like Ascot, Henley and Grosvenor, these treats seldom cost less than £100 (and they can go in excess of £350). The day you get one of these, you know you've made it.

Food hampers: the famous hampers were stacked up just by the ground floor restaurant entrance. With names like Ascot, Henley and Grosvenor, these treats seldom cost less than £100 (and they can go in excess of £350). The day you get one of these, you know you’ve made it.

Last but not least: this Alice Through the Looking Glass inspired chess set is part of the Mad for Tea exhibition. It was found in a house clearance two years ago, having stood unused for over 100 years. It features pictures by original Alice illustrator Sir John Tenniel and is gilded in white gold. It is estimated to be worth £350,000 but F&M have kindly reproduced it for the public at a bargain (!) £2,750. Phew I though we'd miss out there...

Last but not least: this Alice Through the Looking Glass inspired chess set is part of the Mad for Tea exhibition. It was found in a house clearance two years ago, having stood unused for over 100 years. It features pictures by original Alice illustrator Sir John Tenniel and is gilded in white gold. It is estimated to be worth £350,000 but F&M have kindly reproduced it for the public at a bargain (!) £2,750. Phew, I though we’d missed out there…

